Connect with us


At The World Cup, Australia Defeated Sri Lanka By 5 Wickets



At The World Cup, Australia Defeated Sri Lanka By 5 Wickets

(CTN News) – Australia’s first win of the World Cup 2023 on Monday came courtesy of half centuries from Mitchell Marsh and Josh Inglis, who both scored half centuries to guide Australia to a five-wicket win over Sri Lanka.

It was leg-spinner Adam Zampa who returned figures of 4-47 to help bowl out Sri Lanka for 209, a total the five-time winners beat in 35.2 overs at Lucknow’s Ekana Stadium to claim victory for the defending champions.

The hosts registered their first victory in three matches, while the former champions Sri Lanka fell to their third defeat in as many games, with their hopes of qualifying for the semi-finals hanging on by a thread.

As a result of being beaten by India and South Africa in the first two matches of the series, the Australian cricket team displayed some urgency with the ball in the third match and bowled Sri Lanka out for the equivalent of 209 in 44 overs. Adam Zampa was in excellent form with figures of 4-47.

After reaching 157-1 near the halfway point of the game, Sri Lanka appeared to be on its way to reaching 300 before the wheels fell off their innings and they were forced to settle for a total that was below par.

A strong wind delayed the start of Australia’s chase of the target, but the team made heavy weather of it before Josh Inglis scored 58 and Glenn Maxwell made 31 as they saw the team home with nearly 15 overs to spare.

It is expected that the Cricket World Cup will be Australia played in a round-robin format, with all teams playing against each other for a total of 45 league matches in the tournament.

On November 15th, the top four teams will be able to participate in the semi-finals, which will take place in Mumbai and Kolkata, respectively, on November 16th and 17th. There will be reserve days for the semi-finals and the final of the tournament.

It has been announced that the winner of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will receive US$4 million. Out of a total prize pot of US$10 million, the runners up will receive US$2 million, while the losing semi-finalists will receive US$800,000 each from the total prize pot of US$10 million.

It has been agreed that the winning team in each match in the group stage will receive a payment of US$40,000, and the six teams that do not qualify for the semi-finals will receive a payment of US$100,000.


Afghanistan Defeats England In The First Upset Of The World Cup 2023

Cricket World Cup: India Routes Pakistan By 7 Wickets To Extend Winning Streak

Continue Reading

CTN News App

CTN News App

Recent News


compras monedas fc 24

Volunteering at Soi Dog

Find a Job

Jooble jobs