Connect with us


Cricket World Cup: India Routes Pakistan By 7 Wickets To Extend Winning Streak



Cricket World Cup: India Routes Pakistan By 7 Wickets To Extend Winning Streak

(CTN News) – On Saturday, Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav contributed four wickets to India’s dominant victory over Pakistan.

It was India’s eighth consecutive victory over Pakistan in World Cups since 1992, a streak that began in 1992.

Pakistan collapsed from 155-2 (29.3 overs) to 191 all out in 42.5 overs as Bumrah took 2-19 in seven overs and Yadav took 2-35 in 10 overs. Five of India’s six bowlers each took two wickets.

With almost 20 overs remaining, India cruised to victory with Rohit Sharma’s 36-ball half-century.

After Sharma scored 86 runs off 63 balls, India finished with 192-3.

It was the bowlers who set up the game for us today. The pitch didn’t appear to be 190 at one point, Sharma said. The ball goes to whoever gets it. The pride we take in that is something we are very proud of.”

Three straight victories have put India six points ahead of New Zealand on net run-rate. After losing its first game of the tournament, Pakistan has four points from three games and is fourth.

Fit-again Shubman Gill struck four boundaries to score 16 off 11 balls as he chased 192. He was caught at backward point by Shaheen Afridi (2-36), ending his comeback innings.

Sharma and Kohli (16) added 56 runs off 42 balls for the second wicket. It wasn’t possible for Pakistan to make the game interesting because they didn’t give them any chances.

In the 10th over, Kohli was out – a false pull shot off Hasan Ali caught at mid-on.

As India reached 100 in only 13.5 overs, Sharma added 77 off 71 balls with Shreyas Iyer for the third wicket.

In his eighth World Cup, the Indian captain was caught at midwicket by Afridi off a slower delivery. Lokesh Rahul (19 not out) and Iyer added 36 runs for the fourth wicket unbeaten.

India won by 53 runs off 62 balls, including three fours and two sixes.

Earlier, Pakistan was put into bat and made a steady start as Indian fans awaited the first breakthrough.

Abdullah Shafique (20) and Imam ul Haq (36) added 41 runs for the first wicket before Mohammed Siraj struck in the eighth over. For 20 runs, he trapped Shafique lbw.

For the second wicket, Imam and skipper Babar Azam added 32 runs in 4.3 overs.

Hardik Pandya caught Imam behind, who brought Azam and Mohammed Rizwan together. They picked easy boundaries and kept the scorecard ticking for 103 balls against Indian bowlers.

Throughout the day, Pakistan played its best innings.

Azam and Rizwan put on 82 for the third wicket, which included two DRS reviews. He appealed Ravindra Jadeja’s lbw call in the 14th over, and the decision went in his favor. As a result of the umpire’s call, he was fortunate in the 25th over against Yadav.

Azam scored 50 from 58 balls, hitting seven fours. Siraj returned to the attack and bowled Pakistan’s skipper for the turning point.

As Sharma rolled the dice, India’s joy was contagious and there was no looking back.

With his wrist spin, Yadav choked Pakistan. He trapped Saud Shakeel lbw for six in the 33rd over. Ifitkhar Ahmed played a slower delivery onto his stumps four balls later.

Bumrah bowled some magic an over later. Eight balls later, Shadab Khan was bowled for two runs by an off-cutter.

In 69 balls, Rizwan hit 49 fours and was dismissed for 49. It took Pakistan 34 deliveries to lose five wickets for 16 runs.

The last three wickets of India fell for 20 runs at 171-7. Both Jadeja and Pandya finished with 2-38.

Pakistan lost its last eight wickets for 36 runs – a collapse that only sealed their defeat.

Bilateral series between the teams are constantly obstructed by political reasons. In the last 16 years, they haven’t played a test series or a one-day international or Twenty20 series.

Last month, India refused to attend the Asia Cup in Pakistan, so Sri Lanka and Pakistan shared hosting duties.

During the match, Pakistan’s team director Mickey Arthur regretted the one-sided atmosphere.

To be brutally honest, it didn’t seem like an ICC (International Cricket Council) event… more like a BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) event. “I didn’t hear ‘Dil Dil Pakistan’ much tonight,” Arthur said. It plays a role, but I will not use that as an excuse. “We didn’t play well tonight, and we didn’t execute our plans.”

In spite of visa issues, only a few Pakistani fans were among the huge crowd on Saturday, with at least three traveling from the U.S. and Canada.

At the Cricket World Cup, Pakistan has never beaten India. Pakistan lost to India in Sydney despite winning its only title in 1992. In 1996, 1999, 2003, 2011, 2015, and 2019, the trend continued.


Colorado Buffaloes vs. Stanford Cardinal: Live Stream, TV Channel, Start Time

Continue Reading

CTN News App

CTN News App

Recent News


compras monedas fc 24

Volunteering at Soi Dog

Find a Job

Jooble jobs