(CTN News) – During the ongoing second Test against Australia in Melbourne, Pakistan’s wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan found himself at the center of a controversial decision.
In the 61st over of Pakistan’s second innings, Australian bowler Cummins appealed for a caught behind, but the umpire initially ruled it not out.
However, the Australian captain decided to challenge the decision and requested a review, suspecting that Rizwan may have gloved the ball.
After carefully examining the appeal from various angles, the third umpire observed a spike on the UltraEdge as the ball passed the wristband.
Consequently, the on-field umpire was instructed to overturn his decision. Interestingly, the hotspot technology did not show any mark on Rizwan’s glove, as he had momentarily looked away from the ball. Despite being confident that he hadn’t made contact with it, Rizwan left the field in complete disbelief.
At the time of the incident, Rizwan was batting on 35 runs, with Pakistan still 98 runs away from securing victory.
Australia secured a convincing victory in the second Test against Pakistan in Melbourne, triumphing by a margin of 79 runs and sealing the three-match Test series.
Following their win today, Australia now holds an insurmountable 2-0 lead in the series.
In pursuit of a target of 317 runs, Pakistan faltered and was ultimately dismissed for 237 in their second innings on Friday.
Pakistan’s performance in Australia has been lackluster, as they have suffered defeat in 16 consecutive Tests, with their last triumph dating back to 1995.
The series will conclude with the third and final Test, scheduled in Sydney starting from January 3rd.