Connect with us


India Wins Its 8th Asia Cup By Thrashing Sri Lanka



India Wins Its 8th Asia Cup By Thrashing Sri Lanka

(CTN News) – India defeated Sri Lanka by eight wickets in the Asia Cup 2023 final on Sunday, first restricting them to a mere 50 runs, followed by a fast-paced chase to win their eighth Asia Cup title.

On the previous day, Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first. However, Indian bowler Mohammad Siraj humiliated the hosts by taking six wickets – four of which came in one over – while conceding only 21 runs.

Rain caused a delay of 40 minutes in the start of the match. In the first over of the match, Jasprit Bumrah removed Kusal Perera from the field. This marked the beginning of the collapse.

In his first three overs of his spell, Mohammad Siraj completed his fifer.

Sri Lanka were bowled out for 50 in 15.2 overs following Siraj’s six-wicket haul. Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah also claimed three and one wickets, respectively.

Among the Sri Lankan batters, Dushan Hemantha scored an unbeaten 13 and Kusal Mendis added 17 runs.

Since Bangladesh scored 87 runs against Pakistan in 2000, this is the lowest one-day international (ODI) total in the history of the Asia Cup.

In response, the Blue Shirts sailed past the 51-run target and completed the chase with 10 wickets in hand in 6.1 overs.

There were 23 runs scored by Ishan Kishan and 27 runs by Shubman Gill in India’s first innings.

India has won the Asia Cup ODI title for the seventh time and the eighth time overall.

The Man of the Match award went to India’s Siraj for his outstanding performance in winning the match. It was Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarwickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananajaya de Silva and Dasun Shanaka who were his six victims.

Meanwhile, India’s Kuldeep Yadav was named the Player of the Tournament. Nine wickets were taken by the left-arm wrist spinner.

To help India win two games in the Super 4, he took a match-winning five-wicket haul against Pakistan, followed by a four-wicket haul against Sri Lanka.

Shubman Gill of India scored 302 runs during the tournament, followed by Sri Lanka’s Kusal Medis, who scored 270 runs.

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan of Pakistan finished fourth and fifth, respectively, with 207 and 195 runs.

Separately, Sri Lanka’s Matheesha Pathirana took 11 wickets, followed by India’s Mohammad Siraj with 10 wickets. Shaheen Afridi, Pakistan’s left-arm pacer, secured the fourth spot in the bowlers ranking by taking 10 wickets.

The playing XI

A team of Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Siraj has been named for the tournament.

It is a team of Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (c), Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana, that will be taking part in the test.


Inactive For Detroit Lions Week 2: Isaiah Buggs Against Seahawks

Continue Reading

CTN News App

CTN News App

Recent News


compras monedas fc 24

Volunteering at Soi Dog

Find a Job

Jooble jobs