Connect with us


Joe Root Creates History In England’s Fourth Test Against India

Avatar of AlishbaW



Joe Root Creates History In England's Fourth Test Against India

(CTN News) – England’s middle-order batsman Joe Root made history on the opening day of the fourth Test between England and India.

Despite struggling to score big for some time, Joe Root became the first batter to score 10 Test centuries against India. This took his overall red-ball century tally to 31.

Indian players with the most Test centuries

A total of 10 hundreds in 52 innings have been recorded by Joe Root

It took Steve Smith 37 innings to reach nine hundreds

The career record of Gary Sobers is 8 hundreds in 30 innings

A total of eight hundreds were scored in 41 innings by Viv Richards

During his 51 innings of play, Ricky Ponting has accumulated eight hundreds

England’s revival was spearheaded by Joe Root 106 not out in the fourth Test, which was a devastating performance by Indian debutant fast bowler Akash Deep.

With England trailing 2-1 in the five-match series, the visitors opted to bat first in Ranchi and reached stumps at 302-7.

Root, who had suffered a lean patch with just 77 runs in his last six innings, rediscovered his form despite a shaky start that left the team reeling at 112-5. A 113-run partnership was formed between him and wicketkeeper-batsman Ben Foakes, who scored 47 runs in the innings.

Despite the dismissal of Foakes by Mohammed Siraj, Root remained unbeaten with Ollie Robinson (31 not out), forming an unbeaten partnership of 57 runs.

Joe Root 31st Test century was particularly significant in light of criticism he received following his dismissal in the previous match, when he attempted a reverse scoop shot. Following the boundary, he acknowledged the applause with a helmet-off salute to the England players and fans.

As a result of Joe Root and Foakes’ patient batting approach, England were unable to pick up any wickets during the afternoon session, despite England’s usual aggressive batting style, known as “Bazball.”

As a result, Deep picked up three wickets, Siraj picked up two, while Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin managed to pick up one wicket each.

The playing XI is as follows:

Among the Indian players were Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj.

The England team is composed of Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (captain), Ben Foakes (wk), Tom Hartley, Ollie Robinson, Shoaib Bashir, James Anderson.


The Bruins Visit The Flames Following Their Shootout Victory

Alishba Waris is an independent journalist working for CTN News. She brings a wealth of experience and a keen eye for detail to her reporting. With a knack for uncovering the truth, Waris isn't afraid to ask tough questions and hold those in power accountable. Her writing is clear, concise, and cuts through the noise, delivering the facts readers need to stay informed. Waris's dedication to ethical journalism shines through in her hard-hitting yet fair coverage of important issues.

Continue Reading

CTN News App

CTN News App

Recent News


compras monedas fc 24

Volunteering at Soi Dog

Find a Job

Jooble jobs

Free ibomma Movies