(CTN News) – Google announced that it would take strict actions soon to ensure that the security of the web is enhanced and ‘millions’ of specific Gmail accounts would be disabled.
In an announcement made recently, Google announced that it will delete all Gmail accounts if their accounts have not been used regularly for two years and will target specific accounts that have not been used for two years. It will target accounts that have not been used for two or more years.
It should be noted, however, that those who frequently log into their Gmail accounts to use their Docs, Calendar, and Photos will not be affected by the update as they will continue to have full access to these features.
By addressing the vulnerability of outdated and inactive accounts to cyber risks such as phishing scams, spam, and account hijacking, the main objective of the policy is to enhance security by taking measures to address the issue.
As stated in its statement, Google stated,
“If a Google Account has not been used by the account holder for at least two years, we may delete the account and its contents.”
Data stored within Google Workspace, which includes Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar, and Google Photos, will be subject to this data protection policy.
For users to avoid the risk of being deleted by Google, it is important that they remain vigilant and follow a few straightforward steps in order to stay up-to-date with the latest developments.
In order to confirm the deletion of an account, Google will send multiple notifications to the email address provided by the user, as well as the email address used to recover the account.
The simplest way to put it is to say that if you want to save your Gmail account before the impending deadline arrives, this is the right time for you to log in before it’s too late and you lose your account for good.