Connect with us


Election Commission Of Pakistan (ECP) Removes Imran Khan’s Name From PTI Leader List



Imran Khan

(CTN News) – As Pakistan gears up for its upcoming general elections, a seismic shift in the country’s political landscape has taken center stage.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) recently released an updated list of 175 officially registered political parties, unveiling a surprising omission – Imran Khan, the charismatic founder of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), is no longer listed as the head of the party.

This marks a significant development, leaving PTI in an uncharted territory as a leaderless political entity.

The catalyst for this political upheaval was the ECP’s verdict on PTI’s intra-party elections, which resulted in the nullification of the process and the stripping of PTI’s electoral symbol, the iconic ‘bat.’

The ECP’s Chief Election Commissioner, Sikandar Sultan Raja, declared the intra-party elections as null and void after carefully considering arguments from all concerned parties.

Imran Khan1

Imran Khan: PTI’s Dynamics Undergo Transformation

In the aftermath of this decision, Gohar Ali Khan, who assumed the role of PTI chairman after Imran Khan, finds himself ousted from the party’s leadership position.

This not only creates a leadership vacuum within PTI but also casts a shadow of uncertainty over the party’s prospects in the upcoming elections.

Adding another layer to this unfolding political drama is the inclusion of the faction led by Pervez Khattak, known as Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Parliamentarians (PTIP), in the updated roster.

Khattak’s emergence as a key figure within PTI could reshape the party’s dynamics and influence its strategies in the run-up to the elections.

The registration details of other prominent political entities reflect similar interesting dynamics. The Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP), led by President Abdul Aleem Khan, has entered the political fray, providing voters with more choices.

Meanwhile, established parties like Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) are registered under the names of Shehbaz Sharif and Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, respectively.

Leadership Dynamics: A Look at Key Political Parties in Pakistan Ahead of Elections

The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), under the leadership of Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, is registered as the Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) in Asif Ali Zardari’s name.

Similarly, the Balochistan Awami Party is listed under the leadership of President Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, and the Awami Muslim League Pakistan (AMLP) is under the leadership of President Sheikh Rashid Ahmed.

The roster also features other influential political groups, including the Awami National Party (ANP) led by Asfandyar Wali Khan, the Balochistan National Party (BNP) led by Akhtar Mengal, and the Jamaat-e-Islami led by Sirajul Haq.

Furthermore, the Jamiat Ulema Islam, led by Maulana Fazlur Rehman, and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), represented by Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, maintain their presence in the political landscape.

As the election date draws nearer, the consequences of PTI’s leadership crisis and the evolving dynamics within other political parties remain uncertain.

The electorate now faces a complex and fluid political scenario, setting the stage for an intriguing electoral season that could reshape the future trajectory of Pakistani politics.

Imran Khan Granted Bail in State Secrets Case, Remains Jailed Amid Election Challenges

Continue Reading

CTN News App

CTN News App

české casino

Recent News


compras monedas fc 24

Volunteering at Soi Dog

Find a Job

Jooble jobs

Free ibomma Movies