Twenty Three Countries Issue Travel Warnings for Thailand

 Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi airport Please credit and share this article with others using this link: View our policies at and © Post Publishing PCL. All rights reserved.
Security tightens at Bangkok’s Suvarnabhumi airport


BANGKOK – In the wake of Monday’s Erawan shrine bombing, 23 countries have issued travel advisories with most advising caution rather than avoiding travel to Thailand.

The Foreign Ministry said 12 countries issued “Level 2” advisories, urging citizens to take extra care during trips to the kingdom: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan and the United States.

Nine nations, however, recommended a higher degree of caution, or Level 3, warnings. They are Australia, Canada, China, Germany, Italy, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia and the United Kingdom.

Only Hong Kong advised its people to avoid non-essential travel to Thailand, a Level 4 warning. The “red alert” was Hong Kong’s second strongest tier of travel advisory in its three-tier system.

The Netherlands is the only country that instructed its people to be alert. That represented just a Level 1 advisory, meaning its citizens should be aware of the situation around them.

No countries prohibited their citizens from visiting Thailand.



Powered by Facebook Comments

You may also like

Hot News