The Best Of The Best: 5 NBA Players Who Will Win An Award This Season
Connect with us


The Best of the Best: 5 NBA Players Who Will Win an Award this Season

Avatar of Freelancer



nba players

Fresh off after the All-Star game, we’re now deep into the NBA Season. Many teams that weren’t supposed to be contenders are now high up in the standings this season. In the west, the Memphis Grizzlies, which were in the 8th spot last season, dominate at 2nd place. The Chicago Bulls are second thanks to DeMar DeRozan’s breakout MVP season in the east. Last season, the Bulls were 11th in the eastern conference.

It should be noted that superstar-heavy teams like the Lakers and the Nets are trailing. Speaking of DeMar DeRozan and his stellar play, many players are also showing their skills and talent throughout the season. With that said, let’s take a closer look at the best players this season who will most likely win an award.

Evan Mobley (Rookie of the Year)

As mentioned above, teams that weren’t supposed to be dominating are now leading. The Cleveland Cavaliers are an example. Mixed in with both veteran and rookie play, the Cavs are surprisingly in 5th place above the Celtics and Nets. Evan Mobley, a rookie, drafted at 3rd place, is already showing signs of superstar-level play.

Averaging 14.8 points and 8.2 rebounds per game, Evan Mobley is on a solid run towards the ROY or Rookie of the Year award this season. Playing at the center position, Evan Mobley is displaying strength and tenacity. Known for his rim-rattling highlights and powerful finishes, this is one rookie that opposing players don’t want to get hot. Bet on Evan Mobley to win one of the most coveted NBA player awards this season.

DeMar DeRozan (Regular Season MVP)

Low-key, Reliable, Elite scorer. These are the best words that best describe DeMar’s performances every season. You can also add in the word “MVP” because DeRozan is on a rampage this season. He’s playing on a hungry Chicago Bulls team with fellow superstar Zach Lavine who’s also having a breakout season.

Let’s look at why DeMar will win the regular season MVP. Is he scoring well for his team? Yes, DeMar DeRozan is averaging 28.2 points per game, the 4th best in the NBA. Is he on a winning team? Put a check on that; the Bulls are the 2nd best team in the east and are good picks to win this year’s title. Did DeRozan do anything noteworthy this season? Yes, he did. In fact, let’s replace “noteworthy” with “historic.”

This season, he did the unthinkable: DeMar DeRozan is the only player in NBA history who has 35+ points in seven straight games on a savvy 50 percent shooting. Known as a high-flyer, DeRozan is also the king of mid-range in the NBA, making him a scoring threat virtually from anywhere on the floor. DeMar DeRozan deserves the MVP award this season, and he has every reason to win it.

Ja Morant (Most Improved Player of the Year)

Pass your papers. Ja Morant is the NBA’s most improved player of the year this season. In just his 3rd season, Ja Morant has shown fans and teams his impressive scoring and athleticism. Morant averages 27.6 points per game and is 7th on the scoring list above Stephen Curry, Donovan Mitchell, and Jayson Tatum.

Ja Morant dazzled fans with his impressive dunks in his first all-star appearance. Morant isn’t messing around as his team is standing firm at 3rd place in a tough western conference. Many didn’t expect the Grizzlies to surge to the top 3 this season, and it’s primarily because of Ja Morant’s play.

Ja Morant recently scored 52 points in a win against the Spurs. Truly “Ja-dropping,” he became the leading scorer in Grizzlies history with this performance. Before his 52 point outing, the Grizzlies didn’t have a player who scored 50+ points for them. Now that Ja has hit his career-high, every team in the NBA finally has a 50-point scorer in their history.

Rudy Gobert – NBA Defensive Player Of The Year

Having won 3 NBA defensive player of the year awards, Rudy Gobert of the Utah Jazz is closing in on his 4th. Gobert is cleaning up the glass with efficiency, leading the league in rebounds at 14.8 per game.

Rudy Gobert, also known as the “Stifle Tower,” is also leading the league when it comes to blocks. He averages 2.3 blocks per game. There have been only a few players who have dunked on Rudy Gobert. Those wanting to have their highlight moment should come in strong against the big man from France.

Tyler Herro – NBA Sixth Man of the Year

Every NBA team knows the importance of the sixth man. The sixth man is the first person off the bench to help the starters. Tyler Herro will win this year’s Sixth Man award because he’s playing like a starter from the bench.

For a sixth man, he’s averaging a remarkable 20.2 points per game. Herro is one of the reasons why the Miami Heat are the top dogs in the eastern conference this season.


The NBA is the best basketball league in the world. With players like DeMar DeRozan, Rudy Gobert, and Ja Morant, fans are in for a spectacular season. The players mentioned in this list are among the best and rightfully deserve an award for their play.


Also Check: 

Poland Refuses To Play Russia In World Cup Playoffs, as Lewandowski Speaks Out

Josh Taylor Beats Jack Catterall in a Controversial Match to Retain his World Titles

Russia-Ukraine: Would Poland’s Decision Eliminate Russia From The FIFA World Cup?

FIFA Forbids Russia To Play World Cup Qualifiers Under Its Flag & Anthem


Continue Reading
Exit mobile version