Connect with us


Group of Seven Nations G7 to Lessen Reliance on China



Group of Seven Nations G7 to Lessen Reliance on China

On Sunday, US President Joe Biden said the Group of Seven nations had agreed on a united strategy to China that called for diversifying supply chains to lessen reliance on one country, and he hinted that he could meet with China’s president shortly.

“We have no intention of decoupling from China.” “We want to de-risk and diversify our relationship with China,” Biden said at a press conference following a three-day G7 summit. He stated that the G7 nations were more united than ever in “resisting economic coercion together and countering harmful practises that hurt our workers.”

In a Saturday communique, G7 leaders outlined a shared approach to “de-risk, not decouple” economic interaction with China, prompting China’s embassy in Japan to urge the G7 to quit causing hostility and division.

G7 China

Despite the reaction, Biden predicted that icy relations with China will thaw “very soon” after strains generated by an incident earlier this year in which the US shot down a Chinese balloon flying over sensitive military sites.

“We should have an open hotline,” stated Biden. He claimed he agreed to keep communications open with Chinese President Xi Jinping during a G20 summit in Bali, Indonesia last year, but everything changed after ‘this dumb balloon that was carrying two goods vehicles worth of eavesdropping equipment’.

China Taiwan Tensions

Biden said that a transition in US-China ties could occur soon, echoing a comment he made to reporters before leaving. “In terms of talking with them,” Biden continued, “I think you’re going to see that thaw very soon.”

On the issue of tensions between China and Taiwan, Biden stated that most allies agreed that if China took unilateral action against the self-governed island of Taiwan, there would be a response.

“We’re not going to tell China what they can do,” he continued, “but in the meantime, we’ll put Taiwan in a position where they can defend themselves.”

Unification War on Taiwan

Tsai Ing-wen, Taiwan’s president, vowed on Saturday to maintain the status quo of peace and stability across the Taiwan Strait amid rising tensions with China, which has increased military pressure on the democratically ruled island.

Biden repeated that the US and its G7 allies would not trade in resources that might enable China to construct weapons of mass destruction, but emphasised that this was “not a hostile act.”

He stated that he would not contemplate removing China’s limitations on those items, but that it was being discussed whether to ease sanctions on Chinese General Li Shangfu, who was appointed China’s new defence minister in March.

China and the G7

China is not a member of the Group of Seven (G7). The G7 is an exclusive group consisting of seven major advanced economies, as mentioned earlier: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

However, China’s role and influence in the global economy cannot be overlooked. China is the world’s second-largest economy and plays a significant role in international trade, investment, and geopolitical affairs. Although China is not a member of the G7, it interacts with G7 countries and other global forums through various channels, including bilateral engagements, participation in multilateral organizations like the United Nations, and its own initiatives such as the Belt and Road Initiative.

China G7

China’s relationship with the G7 member countries can be characterized by a mix of cooperation, competition, and sometimes tensions, particularly regarding trade practices, human rights, and geopolitical issues. The G7 countries often discuss and coordinate policies related to China in their meetings, reflecting the importance of China’s role in the global economy and international relations.

The Group of Seven (G7) is an informal forum of seven major advanced economies that meet annually to discuss economic policies, global challenges, and other issues of mutual concern. The G7 consists of the following countries:

1. Canada: Canada is a North American country known for its vast landscapes and multicultural society. It is the second-largest country in the world by land area.

2. France: France is a European country known for its rich history, culture, and contributions to art, literature, and science. It is located in Western Europe.

3. Germany: Germany is a European country known for its strong economy, technological advancements, and historical significance. It is located in Central Europe.

4. Italy: Italy is a European country known for its art, architecture, history, and cuisine. It is located in Southern Europe and has played a significant role in European history.

5. Japan: Japan is an East Asian country known for its technological innovation, strong economy, and unique culture. It consists of a chain of islands off the eastern coast of Asia.

6. United Kingdom: The United Kingdom is a country consisting of England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. It has a rich history, global influence, and diverse culture.

7. United States: The United States is a North American country known for its economic and military power, cultural influence, and technological advancements. It is the third-largest country by land area.

The G7 meetings provide an opportunity for leaders from these nations to exchange ideas, discuss global issues such as climate change, international trade, and security, and coordinate policy actions.

Continue Reading


Get a Free Bonus


Recent News

Volunteering at Soi Dog

Buy FIFA Coins

cheap fifa coins

Find a Job

Jooble jobs