Connect with us


Chiang Rai Gets Blue Zone Destination Easing Covid Restrictions



Chiang Rai Gets Blue Zone Destinations Easing Covid Restrictions

The number of ‘Blue Zone’ destinations in Thailand has been expanded from 17 to 26 provinces, including Chiang Rai Province, from December 1st. The COVID-19 curbs have also been eased nationwide in Thailand.

As a result, virtually all businesses and activities in the Blue Zone destinations will be able to operate in a “New Normal” mode. The list includes all shopping venues, convenience stores, markets, cinemas and theatres, sports venues, hair salons, barbershops, massage and spa shops, and beauty and aesthetic clinics.

Eateries and restaurants can also resume normal operating hours. Events, meetings, and fairs can be held as usual without any restrictions on attendance.

In spite of this, all types of entertainment venues, including pubs, bars, and karaoke shops nationwide are to remain closed.

A similar relaxation of the Blue Zone measures has also been extended to the 24 yellow zone provinces, with the exception that events and activities must be organised with a cap of 1,000 attendees or less.

The COVID-19 restrictions in red and orange zones have also been relaxed, with malls, markets, convenience stores, and cinemas allowed to resume their regular hours. While restaurants and eateries in the orange zone can resume normal hours, those in the red zone must close by 23.00 hours.

In the orange and red zones, the sale and consumption of alcohol remain prohibited.

Red zones can accommodate meetings and events for less than 500 attendees. Furthermore, provinces in the orange zone can plan more engaging activities for no more than 1,000 people, such as sports tournaments, food fairs, etc.

The colour-zoning for the control of COVID-19 in Thailand starting on December 1, 2021:

Region of Northern Thailand:

Chiang Mai (Mueang, Chom Thong, Doi Tao, Mae Rim, and Mae Taeng districts only), Chiang Rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen, Wiang Pa Pao districts only), and Loei (Chiang Khan district only).

Northeastern Region:

Buri Ram (Mueang district only), Khon Kaen (Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang, and Ubolratana districts only), Nakhon Ratchasima (Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio, and Wang Nam Khiao districts), Nong Khai (Mueang, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo district only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only), and Udon Thani (Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom, and Nong Han districts only).

The Central Region consists of:

Bangkok, and Ayutthaya (Mueang district only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi (Cha-Am district only), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin, and Nong Kae districts only), and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).

Eastern Region:

Chanthaburi (only for Mueang and Tha Mai districts), Chon Buri (only for Bang Lamung, Ko Si Chang, Pattaya, and Si Racha districts, and only Bang Sarey and Na Jomtien subdistricts in Sattahip district), Rayong (only for Ko Samet), and Trat (only for Ko Chang and Ko Kut districts).
Southern Region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, Phuket, Ranong (Ko Phayam only), and Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao only).

24 Areas Under Stringent Surveillance or yellow zone provinces

Northern Region:

Kamphaeng Phet, Loei*, Nakhon Sawan, Nan, Phayao, Phichit, Phrae, Sukhothai, Uthai Thani, and Uttaradit, and Northeastern Region: Amnat Charoen, Bueng Kan, Buri Ram*, Kalasin, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nong Khai*, Roi Et, Sakhon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin*, and Yasothon.

23 Controlled Areas or orange zone provinces

Central Region:

Ang Thong, Chai Nat, Lop Buri, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Phetchaburi*, Ratchaburi, Samut Prakan*, Samut Sakhon, Samut Songkhram, Sing Buri, Suphan Buri; Eastern Region: Chachoengsao and Chon Buri*; Northern Region: Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Phetchabun, and Phitsanulok; Northeastern Region: Chaiyaphum, Udon Thani*, and Ubon Ratchathani, and Southern Region: Ranong*.
23 Strict Controlled Areas or red zone provinces

Central Region: Ayutthaya* and Prachuap Khiri Khan*; Eastern Region: Chanthaburi*, Prachin Buri, Rayong*, and Trat*; Northern Region: Chiang Mai* and Chiang Rai*; Northeastern Region: Khon Kaen*, Nakhon Ratchasima*, Sa Kaeo, and Saraburi, and Southern Region: Chumphon, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phatthalung, Satun, Songkhla, Surat Thani*, Trang, and Yala.

Source: The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT)

*Except for areas designated as “Blue Zone” pilot tourist destinations.

Continue Reading


Get a Free Bonus


Recent News

Volunteering at Soi Dog

Buy FIFA Coins

cheap fifa coins

Find a Job

Jooble jobs